How to Stencil Tile Floors in 5 Steps

Just weeks after finding out baby #2 was hanging out in my tummy we moved into our current house, and I regret not updating these bathrooms sooner.

As a recovering perfectionist, it took a while to muster up the courage to pick up a roller and just do it. Until I remembered Angela Rose’s words “Stop Pinning, start doing.” I am so happy with the transformation!

How to choose “a look”?

To get the look I wanted, I made a new Pinterest board. Anything that grabbed my attention was pinned. Then I asked “what do these images have in common?” Look for color schemes, finishes, and patterns that repeat. Then delete the images that you don’t love or seem out of place.

I noticed a theme of black hardware, clean lines, dark floors, white walls, natural wood, and plants. Our kids bathroom was remodeled initially using a handyman, and designed by me. I knew we could save some money by painting the tile instead of replacing it to achieve the look I was going for. To be cohesive, I stenciled the half bath floors as well.

How to paint tile?

This is what I used, and how I did it. The steps made sense to me and I’m happy with the result! Do not overthink it or go down the tutorial rabbit trail, just pick a method and go with it!

Materials:

Step 1: Clean and Prep

I am all about all-natural products, but for this I am glad I used Krud Kutter. It removed dripped paint and tough residue without effort. Tape your baseboards, and don’t forget about around the commode, tub, and sink area.

Pro tip: Wear socks to prevent scuffs and for swiveling around 😉

Step 2: Prime

Starting in the farthest corner from the door, use the foam roller to apply 2-3 coats of primer. Get into the grout by using the round tip of your roller. This will be covered up so it’s ok if it looks streaky and imperfect. I waited about an hour between coats for it to completely dry. No turning back now!

Step 3: Paint

Using a new foam roller insert (or wash off the original one), start painting in the same back corner, working towards the door. Get into the grout the same way. After the first coat is dry (about 1 hour), apply 1-2 more coats until it looks even and solid.

Congratulations! It looks so much better than before already, and you might be tempted to stop here. If you do, that’s fine. But the stencil takes it from nice and clean to fresh and fun.

Step 4: Stencil

Ready for honesty? You will probably get frustrated at the stencil. The nooks and crannies take some maneuvering and patience. I suggest stenciling the main areas of the room first, then once that is dry go around the edges (you’ll see in the pictures at the end of this post). You can bend the stencil up the wall to get right up to the baseboards, and fold it like a taco to get behind the commode. In several spots I thought “I’ll just leave it blank there” but am so glad I went back in to them. They are easier to do at the end!

Tips:

Like building a train track, have one starting point and build out from there. Otherwise you’ll get to a point where the stencil does not match the right way! Use a foam roller. A very light coat is best, otherwise it will bleed and smear. My best looking spots are where I was pressing hard into the roller because it seemed to have no paint left on it. Since you’re using paint lightly, it dries quickly.

Step 5: Seal

Remove the painters tape, clean the floors again, then use a clean foam roller to apply the protective finish. Most polyurethane’s say to apply 3 coats; however the one I used is 3x the coverage (so it says) and only requires one application. It seems durable to me, but you can do another coat if you want to.

Kid’s bathroom floor process:

Half Bath floor process:

Whew!

That might sound like a million steps, and around the second base coat it may feel that way. Just remember, it’ll be worth it for such an affordable upgrade. And if you don’t have two toddlers and an infant relying on your for food and snuggles it should be way faster for you. But hey, if I did it, you totally can too. Get after it, I believe in you!

Share your thoughts!

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑